Skip to content

The 10,000 Hour Rule

November 21, 2010

Malcolm Gladwell wrote the book, Outliers, which explores how the exceptionally successful people got to be just that.  What he found was that hard work paid off – more so than IQ, and that most experts in their field weren’t considered so until they had 10,000 hours of experience.  He also found their environment (parents, schools, culture) shaped their lives and aided in their success as well.

Moral of the story: Practice makes perfect, and parents, lead by example!

One Comment leave one →
  1. ZeroSum Ruler permalink
    November 21, 2010 9:19 am

    Definitely one of the greatest books I have ever read. If you know of any others like it, I’d love to know, too. I loved The Tipping Point and Freakonomics, which has an alternate view on why crime rate dropped in NYC (Sorry all you Broken Windowers) were both excellent, too. I couldn’t much get into Blink, but I won’t hold that against him. Outliers made me proud of my barely-B GPA from a State University because I recognize I work hard, and that’s what it’s all about.

    Thank you for reminding me, well, and everyone else who reads your blog, how great this book is.

    By the way, I went onto grad school part-time for 5 years at a private and more respected university while I worked full-time, and am 99% through my thesis. Hard work does make it happen.

Leave a comment