Skip to content

Chinese vs. American Math Education

January 13, 2010

Michigan State University general management sophomore and Chinese Student Association President, Ruihong Pan, discusses his experience attending primary school in China and attending college in America. Pan also offers his opinion on the differences between the two systems, especially in regards to math and science education.

In November, President Barack Obama launched an initiative called “Educate to Innovate,” which will strive to prepare more math and science teachers to make the country more competitive in the two subjects.

Click here to watch the video.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. shana donohue permalink
    May 10, 2010 7:50 pm

    I was told by a professor at harvard that the Flemmish speaking area of Belgium scores very high on international math exams. I don’t know why, but I do need to look into this for my thesis. Have you heard of this?

  2. ZeroSum Ruler permalink
    October 9, 2010 7:30 pm

    Professor Schmidt at Michigan… are you in contact with him? I need the citation of a draft paper he wrote, but most importantly, a chart he put together comparing A+ countries’ and US math topics covered each year. I emailed the professor, but who am I? Do you know what chart I’m talking about? The draft is here….http://zerosumruler.wordpress.com/2010/06/20/math-around-the-world/

    But I need to be able to cite it for my thesis.

    • October 23, 2010 11:54 pm

      No, just posted the story.

      • ZeroSum Ruler permalink
        October 24, 2010 8:45 am

        I got the article! I emailed him and someone from his office emailed me back with the article as an attachment. I don’t know why it’s not a searchable article, the information is fascinating. We cover SO man mah topics per year in the US as compared to countries that lead the world in math. Seems that depth wins over breadth, as far as math goes. Now we just need good curriculum to mirror this….

Leave a Reply

